Founding

When Sir John Dunlop, the first post-war British Consul General in Hamburg, founded the Anglo-German Club in 1948, his chief aim was to revive the good relations that had formerly existed between the British and the Germans. It was a considerable challenge so soon after the war.

So, as well as recruiting high-ranking members of the British occupation, such as the Regional Commissioner Sir Henry Vaughan Berry who became the club’s first chairman, he sought out German founder members who shared his vision. 
Among these Hamburg personalities, who were often invited to the club by the British, were well-known figures such as Max Brauer, Dr Kurt Sieveking and Dr Paul Nevermann, all of them mayors of Hamburg. The publishers Axel Springer, John Jahr and Ernst Rowohlt were also part of the club from the outset, as were Erik Blumenfeld and the banker Heinrich von Berenberg-Gossler, who ran our club for nearly 30 years. He did so with political impartiality but with dedication and in a manner both locally rooted and cosmopolitan. These are values that are maintained to this day and underscore the particular spirit of our club.

Membership

The Anglo-German Club is a meeting place for men and women who make a difference and whose opinions are heard. We would be glad to hear from you should you be interested in becoming a member.

Membership of the club entitles you to use our clubhouse and to participate in our events. Members and their guests may also use the club’s facilities for private as well as business meetings. In addition, membership also gives you access to our worldwide network of reciprocal clubs.

Individuals and companies may apply to join the Anglo-German Club. A company may nominate up to three representatives, who may be changed during the year. Individual membership is non-transferable. Each application for membership must be supported by three club members. Please do not hesitate to contact our club office to discuss the kind of membership most suitable for you.

Club life

Its more than 1,000 members make the Anglo-German Club an institution in Hamburg. Our building is open to both men and women, and our member’s guests are also most welcome. We are a club with set rules and an established code of behaviour, rooted in the tradition of English clubs the world over. Or, as a former mayor of Hamburg once put it, it is “the last British colony on the Continent”.

In the long history of our club there have been many special events that we look back on with pleasure even years later.
These include our regular events with speeches by prominent figures from home and abroad who address important economic, political, scientific and cultural issues – Joachim Gauck, Mikhail Gorbachev, Shimon Peres and Heidi Simonis, to name but a few. When asked which prominent people had been among our guests, our president of many years, Heinrich von Berenberg-Gossler, used to answer with a question of his own: “Who hasn’t?”

In addition, we hold further social events for our members throughout the year. In spring we host a kitchen party or a jazz event. For decades we held a joint garden party with the British Honorary Consul in Hamburg to celebrate the official birthday of the British head of state, Queen Elizabeth II. In late summer we organise our golf competition and a generational evening. Our Advent Dinner, at which a well-known performer always appears, rounds off the year’s events at the club.

Club Juniors

Our Club Juniors are aged between 22 and 35. They meet regularly for their own events. Junior Evenings always begin with a speaker followed by a dinner for all those present. In addition to these lecture evenings, the year’s programme includes a whisky tasting, a croquet competition, a summer party, a goose dinner in the winter and joint trips.

The Club Juniors have been a fixed part of club life for more than 25 years. This is an opportunity for the younger generation to become established in the club. The interaction between the generations is more than a characteristic feature of our club culture, it also helps secure our club ethos for the future.

Social responsibility

Since the Anglo-German Club was founded shortly after World War II, the furtherance of mutual understanding between the peoples of Germany and the United Kingdom has been paramount. While this topic was of particular importance in the post-war period, it is still close to our hearts today and has recently come to the fore again with Brexit. We thus constantly devote our energies to cultivating and maintaining close and friendly German-British relations.

To this end, scholarships are still regularly awarded to German and British students of both sexes, thus encouraging mutual cultural exchange.

We also regularly support British institutions and events in Hamburg, such as the Anglican Church, British Flair, the Sir Vaughan Berry Prize awarded by Hamburg University, the Hamburg Players, plus choir and school trips to the UK, the HSBA Hockey Trophy, British films at film festivals and much else.

Although the Club is politically impartial, we attach great importance to our members’ shouldering responsibility in society.

Committee

Claus-G. Budelmann OBE

Chairman

Dr Hans Wilhelm Jenckel
Deputy Chairman

Gunter Mengers

Treasurer

Dr Thomas Seiffert

Secretary

Gunnar Heinemann

Committee member

Clive J. Kennedy OBE
Committee member


Honorary member

John Jahr

Committee member

Dr John Benjamin Schroeder

Committee member

Nikolaus H. Schües
Committee member

Our Honorary Presidents are His Britannic Majesty’s Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Germany (Berlin) and the First Mayor of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg.

Club events – speakers

We regularly host speakers on our club premises. Prominent figures from home and abroad reflect on the important economic, political, scientific and cultural issues of the day. These events are at the heart of our club life.

 

An overview of our most recent speakers

Hamish McRae
Economic journalist and author
»The world economy – a view from post-Brexit Britain«

General Lieutenant Markus Laubenthal
Deputy Inspector General of the Bundeswehr
» The security policy challenges facing Germany and the “Zeitenwende” in the Bundeswehr «

Dr. h.c. Sonja Lahnstein-Kandel
Board University of Haifa, Board of Trustees Israelitisches Krankenhaus Hamburg
»Salomon Heine, Albert Ballin, Max M. Warburg«

Prof. em. Dr. Thomas Straubhaar
Professor emeritus of the University of Hamburg, member of the Board of Trustees and Chairman of the Programme Committee of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation
»Why economic growth is a solution and not a problem!«

Burghart Klaussner
Actor

Senator Dr. Melanie Leonhard
President of the Ministry of Economics and Innovation of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg
»Strategic orientation of the economic policy of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg in turbulent times«

Gründung

Als Sir John Dunlop, erster königlich-britischer Generalkonsul in Hamburg, nach dem 2. Weltkrieg, 1948 den Anglo-German Club gründete, wollte er in erster Linie das ehemals gute Verhältnis zwischen Briten und Deutschen wiederbeleben. Kurz nach dem Krieg war dies mehr als eine Herausforderung.

So suchte er neben hochrangigen Mitgliedern der britischen Besatzungsmacht, wie dem Regional Commissioner Sir Vaughan Berry, der erster Präsident des Clubs wurde, gezielt nach deutschen Gründungsmitgliedern, die seine Idee unterstützen.
Unter diesen Hamburger Persönlichkeiten, die schon öfter auf Einladung der Briten in den Club geladen wurden, waren so bekannte Namen wie Max Brauer, Dr. Kurt Sieveking, Dr. Herbert Weichmann und Dr. Paul Nevermann, allesamt Bürgermeister der Hansestadt; auch die Verleger Axel Springer, John Jahr und Ernst Rowohlt waren von Anfang an dabei. Ebenso wie Erik Blumenfeld und der Bankier Heinrich von Berenberg-Gossler, der unseren Club fast 30 Jahre lang führte. Dies tat er unpolitisch aber engagiert, heimatverbunden aber weltoffen. Werte, die auch heute noch gelten und den besonderen Geist unseres Clubs unterstreichen.

Mitgliedschaft

Der Anglo-German Club ist ein Ort der Begegnung für Männer und Frauen, die etwas bewegen und deren Meinung gehört wird. Wir freuen uns, wenn Sie Interesse an einer Mitgliedschaft haben.

Eine Clubmitgliedschaft berechtigt Sie zum Besuch unserer Clubräume sowie zur Teilnahme an unseren Veranstaltungen. Mitgliedern und ihren Gästen stehen zudem die Räumlichkeiten des Clubs für private sowie geschäftliche Treffen zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht Ihnen die Mitgliedschaft den Zugang zu unserem weltweiten Netz von Korrespondenzclubs.

Personen oder Firmen können eine Mitgliedschaft im Anglo-German Club beantragen. Eine Firma kann bis zu drei Repräsentanten benennen, die unterjährig gewechselt werden können. Eine persönliche Mitgliedschaft ist nicht übertragbar. Jeder Antrag auf Mitgliedschaft muss von drei Bürgen, die Mitglieder des Clubs sind, unterstützt werden. Um die passende Mitgliedschaft zu finden, sprechen Sie gerne mit dem Clubbüro.

Clubleben

Mit seinen über 1.000 Mitgliedern ist der Anglo-German Club eine Institution in Hamburg. Unser Haus steht sowohl Herren als auch Damen offen, auch die Gäste unserer Mitglieder sind uns stets willkommen. Wir sind ein Club mit festen Regeln und soliden Umgangsformen, verwurzelt in der Tradition der englischen Clubs überall auf der Welt. Oder wie es ein ehemaliger Hamburger Bürgermeister einmal formulierte: „Die letzte britische Kolonie auf dem Kontinent“.

In der langen Geschichte unseres Clubs gibt es eine Vielzahl besonderer Veranstaltungen, an die man sich auch Jahre später noch gerne erinnert.

Das sind zum einen unsere regelmäßig stattfindenden Vorträge von namhaften Persönlichkeiten aus dem In- und Ausland, die die wichtigen Themen und Fragen aus Wirtschaft, Politik, Wissenschaft und Kultur reflektieren. Joachim Gauck, Michail Gorbatschow, Shimon Peres, Heide Simonis – just to name a few. Auf die Frage nach prominenten Gästen, die im Club Einlass fanden, pflegte der langjährige Präsident Heinrich von Berenberg-Gossler mit einer Gegenfrage zu antworten: „Welche nicht?“

Zusätzlich veranstalten wir über das Jahr verteilt, weitere gesellige Veranstaltungen für unsere Mitglieder. Wir laden im Frühjahr zur Küchenparty oder einem Jazz-Event. Im Juni feiern wir gemeinsam mit dem britischen Honorarkonsul in Hamburg die Garden-Party anlässlich des Geburtstages der britischen Königin Elizabeth II. Im Spätsommer veranstalten wir unser Golfturnier und den Generationenabend. Das Adventsdinner, welches stets von einem bekannten Künstler begleitet wird, bildet den Abschluss des Veranstaltungsjahres im Club.

Juniorenkreis

Die Junioren unseres Clubs sind zwischen 22 und 35 Jahre alt. Sie kommen regelmäßig zu eigenen Veranstaltungen zusammen. Ein Juniorenabend beginnt stets mit einem Vortrag, an den sich ein gemeinsames Abendessen aller Teilnehmer anschließt. Neben diesen festen Vortragsabenden finden im Laufe des Jahres zusätzlich eine Whiskyprobe, ein Krocketturnier, ein Sommerfest sowie ein winterliches Gänseessen und auch gemeinsame Reisen statt.

Seit mehr als 25 Jahren bildet der Juniorenkreis des Anglo-German Clubs einen festen Bestandteil im Clubleben. Hier bieten wir der jungen Generation die Möglichkeit in den Club hineinzuwachsen. Es ist das Miteinander der Generationen, das nicht nur die besondere Kultur unseres Clubs prägt, sondern auch dabei hilft, den Clubgedanken in die Zukunft zu tragen.

Soziales Engagement

Seit Gründung des Anglo-German Clubs kurz nach dem II. Weltkrieg spielt die Förderung der Völkerverständigung zwischen Deutschland und Großbritannien eine zentrale Rolle. Während dieses Thema in der Nachkriegszeit eine ganz besondere Bedeutung hatte, liegt es uns auch heute noch sehr am Herzen und ist jüngst mit dem Brexit wieder stärker ins Bewusstsein gerückt. Daher investieren wir kontinuierlich in die Pflege und den Erhalt einer engen und freundschaftlichen deutsch-britischen Beziehung.

Zu diesem Zwecke werden bis heute regelmäßig Stipendien für deutsche und britische Studenten und Studentinnen vergeben und so der gegenseitige Austausch der Kulturen gefördert.

Gleichzeitig unterstützen wir immer wieder englische Institutionen und Veranstaltungen in Hamburg wie die Englische Kirche, die British Flair, den Sir Vaughan Berry Preis der Uni-Hamburg, die Hamburg Players sowie Chor- oder Schulreisen nach England, die HSBA Hockey Trophy, Englische Filme auf Filmfesten und viele mehr.

Obwohl der Club unpolitisch ist, legen wir großen Wert darauf, dass unsere Mitglieder ihre gesellschaftspolitische Verantwortung wahrnehmen.

Vorstand

Claus-G. Budelmann OBE
Vorsitzender

Clive J. Kennedy OBE
Stellvertretender Vorsitzender
Ehrenmitglied

Dr. jur. Thomas Seiffert
Schriftführer

Gunter Mengers
Schatzmeister

Gunnar Heinemann
Beisitzer

John Jahr
Beisitzer

Dr. Hans-Wilhelm Jenckel
Beisitzer

Dr. John Benjamin Schroeder
Beisitzer

Unsere Ehrenpräsidenten sind die Botschafterin des Vereinigten Königreiches Großbritannien und Nordirland (Berlin) sowie der Erste Bürgermeister der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg.

Clubveranstaltungen – Vorträge

In den Räumen unseres Clubs finden regelmäßig Vorträge statt. Hochkarätige Persönlichkeiten aus dem In- und Ausland reflektieren die wichtigen Themen und Fragen aus Wirtschaft, Politik, Wissenschaft und Kultur. Diese Vortragsveranstaltungen stehen im Mittelpunkt des Clublebens.

Ein Rückblick auf die Speaker der jüngsten Vergangenheit

Ingo Zamperoni
Fernseh-Moderator und Journalist
»Die USA nach 100 Tagen Präsident Biden«

Udo Lielischkies
Ehemaliger ARD Studioleiter in Moskau, Journalist und Buchautor
»Die Entwicklung der Beziehung Russlands mit der BRD, seine Bedeutung und seine Problematik«

Prof. Dr. Thomas Straubhaar
Prof. der Universität Hamburg, Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, Stiftungsvorstand des Club of Hamburg
»Nach Corona – was bleibt vom Optimismus?«

Dr. Alexander Klar
Hamburger Kunsthalle | Direktor
»Museum heute – Museum übermorgen«

Sigmar Gabriel Bundesminister a. D.
Ehemaliger Bundesumweltminister, Ehemaliger Bundeswirtschaftsminister, Ehemaliger Bundesaußenminister
»Europa in einer unbequemen Welt«

Prof. Dr. Thomas Straubhaar
Prof. der Universität Hamburg, Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, Stiftungsvorstand des Club of Hamburg
»Dynamik der 2020er Jahre – Neue Ökonomik für neue Ökonomie«

Theresita Colloredo, Victoria Trautmansdorff & Hrólfur Vagnsson
»Adventsdinner«

Generalmajor Oliver Kohl
Kommandeur der Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr
»Führen und Forschen: Mut zum Diskurs in unsicherer Zeit«

S.E. Peter Wittig
Deutscher Botschafter im Vereinigten Königreich
»Die gefährdete Ordnung: Zur Lage Europas aus Londoner Sicht«

Ralf Martin Meyer
Polizeipräsident der Polizei Hamburg
»Die aktuelle Bedeutung des Themas Sicherheit in Hamburg«

Dr. Florian Langenscheidt
Verleger und Buchautor
»Größter Fluch oder Segen? Die Digitalisierung und wie wir das Beste daraus machen.«